Trust confirms three re-appointments to the Trust board

The appointments of Dr Tim Douglas-Riley CBE, Pauline Geen and Robert Down as non-executive directors to the Northern Devon Healthcare NHS Trust board have been extended for a further two years.

Dr Tim Douglas-Riley

Tim Douglas-Riley lives in Plymouth and was formerly the director of the Royal Naval Medical Service. He joined the Trust in 2012 as an associate non-executive director before becoming a full member of the board in 2013. He chairs the Trust’s patient experience and organ donation committees and is the senior independent director for the Trust board.  Tim’s re-appointment is from 28 May 2019 to 27 May 2021.

Tim said: “I am delighted to have extended my appointment by a further two years and am pleased I will be able to continue to support the Trust in this way. There has been a great deal of change during my time as a non-executive director and I am looking forward to supporting further positive change as we continue to improve.”

Pauline Geen

Pauline Geen, who lives in West Putford in Torridge, spent more than 30 years working in the public and private sectors in key roles in facilities management, administration and customer services. She is a qualified chartered secretary and administrator. She joined the board in 2011 and is a member of the Trust’s audit and assurance committee and vice-chair of the Trust board.  Pauline’s re-appointment is from 3 March 2019 to 2 March 2021.

Pauline said: “I am pleased to be re-appointed to the Trust board and am proud to support the wonderful team of dedicated staff working at our hospitals and across the community. The Trust board plays a crucial role in supporting the development of a longer term plan for sustainable services for the northern Devon population and I am very keen to be part of this.”

Robert Down

Robert Down lives near Newton Tracey and has a background in the oil and gas industry, where he led the technical and financial activities of a large, complex multinational company.  He is a Chartered Engineer and is also a Fellow of the Chartered Association of Certified Accountants. He chairs the Trust’s finance and charitable funds committees.  Robert’s re-appointment is from 9 February 2019 to 8 February 2021.

Robert said: “I’m very pleased to continue as a non-executive director for a further two years. Through my role I will contribute to our continued aim to provide the very best health and care services for our patients, and I am very honoured to do so.”

Tim, Pauline and Robert are all trustees of the Trust’s charitable fund.

James Brent, chairman, said: “I am delighted that Tim, Pauline and Robert have agreed to a further term with NDHT. Their knowledge, skills and experience are invaluable, and I’m looking forward to working with them on securing the long-term sustainability of clinical services for the population of northern Devon.”

Suzanne Tracey, chief executive of the Trust, said: “Tim, Pauline and Robert have brought a wealth of experience to the board and as we work with our partners to improve local services for the future, I am extremely glad that these individuals will be there to support this and help us ensure that everyone has good access to clinical care.”

More information

The re-appointments have been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments’ Code of Practice.

Non-executive appointments to NHS trusts are made by NHS Improvement and are subject to the Governance Code for Public Appointments. NHS Improvement ensure that all appointments to NHS trust boards throughout England are made in a way that is open, transparent and fair to candidates. None of Dr Douglas-Riley, Mrs Geen or Mr Down have declared political activity nor do they hold ministerial appointments.

Pauline is the chair of the West and East Putford Parish Council and a community advisory panel member for the East Youlstone Community Benefit Fund.

Robert is also chairman of Anchorwood Limited, the development subsidiary of North Devon Homes Ltd., and an executive director of the North Devon Biosphere Foundation.

Non-executive directors of NHS trusts receive a remuneration of £6,157 per annum.

Posted in News.

Last updated: February 8, 2019